PREVIEW: Melodifestivalen 2019 Heat 4 starring Ann-Louise Hanson, Anton Hagman, Arvingarna & Lisa Ajax

Our 1st live Melodifestivalen experience was in Stockholm’s Globen 15 years ago when Ann-Louise Hanson joined Towa Carson and Siw Malmkvist to compete with earworm C’est La Vie (pictured right above and immediately below).

  • Read on for reasons including fellow contestants Anton Hagman, Arvingarna & Lisa Ajax

Ann-Louise Hanson Kärleken finns kvar (Love remains) (David Lindgren Zacharias, Josefin Glenmark, Olof “Ollie” Olsen)

The running order for the final Lidköping heat on 23 February has this as the penultimate song. This will be Ann-Louise Hanson’s 14th Melodifestivalen and she’s never won (a record) although we remember her best for her 2004 entry (see below) which finished 10th. This new song has been written with her daughter and we think it is likely to be a ballad.

Anton Hagman Känner dig (Know you) (Gusten Dahlqvist, Oliver Forsmark, Anton Hagman, Jakob Hjulström)

Hagman performs 2nd and found fame during his 2017 debut in the contest when his entry Kiss You Goodbye (see below) beat 2012 Eurovision Song Contest winner Loreen in Andra Chansen. Anton, a co-writer here, finished 10th in the final.

Arvingarna I Do (Nanne Grönvall, Mikael Karlsson, Casper Jarnebrink, Thomas “Plec” Johansson)

Swedish dansband Arvingarna won MF in 1993 with Eloise (see below) and this will be their 5th appearance.

They sing 4th and finished 7th in the Eurovision final in County Cork, Ireland.

Co-writer Nanne Grönvall has both Eurovision and Melodifestivalen experience, placing 3rd in Eurovision in 1996 in Oslo with folk ballad Den Vilda (The Wild One, see below).

In 2005 she memorably sang Håll om mig (Embrace me, above) which won the televote but finished runner up to Martin Stenmarck who appears in the 3rd heat. Four years earlier she had attempted to represent the UK with the song Men (see below).

Lisa Ajax Torn (Isa Molin)

This is Lisa’s 3rd MF attempt, she sings 3rd tonight and has yet to have a co-writing credit. In 2016 My Heart Wants Me Dead finished 7th and a year later I Don’t Give A was 9th.

Elsewhere, Bishara’s entry On Your Own sung 5th was co-written by last year’s MF winner Benjamin Ingrosso (see below).

The other participants in this heat are: show closer John Lundvik (3rd last year with My Turn) and Pagan Fury (show openers). To discover more about them, we’d suggest fellow site Scandipop. Read our Heat 1, Heat 2 and Heat 3 previews.

Keep an eye out for as we’ll be previewing all 28 songs in the run-up to their heats. We’ll also predict the qualifiers in each heat in anticipation of Saturday’s show. MF: #GreatestShowOnEarth

Find our Heat 4 predictions on Friday (22 February 2019) here.

  • Picture via YouTube courtesy SVT Melodifestivalen. Tickets
  • Enjoyed this review? Follow its author on Twitter @NeilDurham, email and check us out on Instagram and Facebook




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.