PREVIEW: Heat 4 Melodifestivalen 2020 starring Nanne, Ellen Benediktson, Hanna Ferm and Victor Crone

Last year’s Melodifestivalen winner – John Lundvik – sang last in the final heat and here that honour goes to Hanna Ferm rather than MF royalty Nanne Grönvall.

  • Read on for reasons including Ellen Benediktson and Victor Crone who also appear in this final heat

Ferm finished 3rd in last year’s final singing duet Hold You with LIAMOO. We said then: ‘It’s Hanna’s vocal we’re most enjoying here and this is a little more pop than LIAMOO’s previous entry which finished 6th last year. It’s 2nd in the betting as we type and the only duet in the competition. We’re enjoying the billowing flags in the staging slightly more than the song itself.’ And, gosh, hasn’t Jimmy Jansson been busy.

7. Hanna Ferm Brave (David Kjellstrand, Jimmy Jansson, Laurell Barker)

We’re here though for MF royalty Nanne Grönvall (pictured above) who sings 3rd with song Carpool Karaoke she co-wrote with husband Peter. They were both part of group One More Time who won MF and finished 3rd in 1996 with Den Vilda (The Wild, watch below).

Last year she co-wrote a song in Heat 4 for dansband Arvingarna (she’s co-written a song she doesn’t sing here also) and we’ve previewed her MF and UK Eurovision selection history there but the thing you most need to know was that she was 2005’s runner-up despite winning the televote with the mighty Håll om mig (Embrace me).

Elsewhere Ellen Benediktson sings a duet fifth with Simon Peyron she co-wrote with Paul Rey, Laurell Barker, Anderz Wrethov and Sebastian von Koenigsegg called Surface. She competed solo in both 2014 and 2015 having most success six years ago with one of our favourite songs of that year (watch below) which finished 7th.

Finally Swedish singer Victor Crone sings 5th with song Troubled Waters he co-wrote with Dino Medanhodzic and Benjamin Jennebo. Victor represented Estonia at Eurovision in 2019 (watch below) finishing 20th in the final. We said then: ‘Co-writer Rästa performed and co-authored 1 of our favourite Eurovision entries of recent times (Goodbye to Yesterday his duet with Elina Born was 7th in 2015) and this is Coldplay-light which works well in this context. Estonia has won once at 24 attempts, in 2001, and this was well worth the country’s 16th final appearance.’

Three new entrants also feature in this heat and for more details about these artists we’d recommend one of our favourite sites (Scandipop) if you want to know more.

  1. Frida Öhrn We Are One (Frida Öhrn, Hampus Eurenius, Nicklas Eklund)

2. William Strid Molnljus (Cloud light) (Markus Lidén, Christian Holmström, David Kreuger, William Stridh)

6. Jakob Karlberg Om du tror att jag saknar dig (If you think I miss you) (Nanne Grönvall, Isak Hallén, Henrik Moreborg, Jakob Karlberg)

Keep an eye out for as we’ll be previewing all 28 songs in the run-up to their heats. We’ll also predict the qualifiers in each heat in anticipation of Saturday’s show. MF: #GreatestShowOnEarth

Find our Heat 4 predictions on Friday 21 February at

Read our previews of Heat 1, Heat 2 and Heat 3.

  • Picture via YouTube courtesy SVT Melodifestivalen. Tickets
  • Enjoyed this review? Follow its author on Twitter @NeilDurham, email and check us out on Instagram and Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.